Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Help! I'm a computer idiot.
The Noise Boston > The Noise Board > Open Forum
Sharpening Knives
What program should I use to type something up and send it as a ".doc" file?

I don't do much of this sort of thing.
FrankD
werd.

How did you actually manage to type something on the Noiseboard?
swid
Yeah, wow, that is impressive. If you don't have or want to buy Microsoft Office to get word, Open Office is a nice open source free equivalent.
Flipper

IPB Image
Sharpening Knives
I have Office, never have to use it for anything. I don't have an office job. I'm a cook, and believe it or not, we still don't use computers for that.
His Daddy
QUOTE(Sharpening Knives @ May 10 2008, 09:28 PM) *

I have Office, never have to use it for anything. I don't have an office job. I'm a cook, and believe it or not, we still don't use computers for that.

How do you type up your menus so people know what they can order?
Sharpening Knives
QUOTE(His Daddy @ May 10 2008, 08:50 PM) *

How do you type up your menus so people know what they can order?

In Word, which could well create doc. files for all I know, but I've never had to send a file where someone requested one particular format over another, so I've never had to pay attention. It has never had anything to do with my working (or playing) life. I know, it's almost IMPOSSIBLE TO BELIEVE!!!!!

I've probably sent a billion .doc files before, just wasn't aware of it. Someone has asked me to send something in that format specifically and it's a large manuscript with alot of odd formatting that could get screwed up if I have to cut and paste it at any point, so I want to do it correctly from the beginning.
Mrs. Rockit
.doc is the default (extension) for a Microsoft Word document.

.xls Excel

.ppt Powerpoint

.psd Adobe Photoshop

.ai Adobe Illustrator

etc...etc...etc...